Thursday, June 25, 2020

Understanding Domestic Violence Charges in Arizona

In Arizona, the definition of domestic violence (DV) is quite broad. You won’t find this charge as its own crime in state laws. Instead, you will face a DV penalty in addition to underlying charges for other acts if you have a domestic relationship with the alleged victim.

rise of domestic violence in arizona

The domestic violence designation could apply to multiple underlying crimes, including the following:

  • Criminal damage or trespassing
  • Disorderly conduct
  • Physical, sexual, or aggravated ssault
  • Endangerment
  • Harassment
  • Kidnapping
  • Negligent homicide, manslaughter, or murder
  • Stalking, intimidating, or threatening
  • Unlawful imprisonment

Your Relationship to the Victim Determines Whether DV Applies

To meet the state’s definition of domestic violence, you need to have a specific relationship with the other party involved. Keep in mind that these types of charges apply to more than just legally married couples. If you have or have ever had a romantic relationship with the victim, lived with the victim, or if you have a child together, your relationship qualifies. Domestic violence charges can also apply to crimes committed against blood relations, relatives by marriage or court order, and children in your home who are related to your spouse or roommate. When you’re unsure whether your relationship with the victim makes DV charges applicable, contact Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, for assistance.

Penalties You May Face

Since Arizona charges for domestic violence along with the crime it involves and not as a crime on its own, the penalties stem from those given for the base crime. However, if your original charges come with DV charges, you will receive additional penalties on top of what you would receive for the base charges. This means that, when your conviction involves domestic violence, you could serve more jail time,  undergo mandatory DV counseling, and experience other negative consequences. The exact domestic violence penalties you will face depending on what you are charged with. If, for example, you’re charged with a Class 3 DV misdemeanor, you could face up to 30 days in jail and a maximum fine of $500. However, if your case involves serious bodily injury sustained by the alleged victim, that’s a Class 3 dangerous felony that carries a sentence of up to 15 years in prison, and fines up to $100,000. Multiple convictions for crimes with a domestic violence charge can increase your penalties, too. Being convicted of a DV crime three times or more over a period of 84 months in Arizona is a Class 5 felony, making you subject to fines and a prison sentence of up to 2.5 years.

The Domestic Violence Legal Process

In Arizona, the state has up to one year to file a charge against you for alleged domestic violence if it’s a misdemeanor. For felonies, the state has up to seven years. Once you are officially charged, it is best to enter a “not guilty” plea. Here, it’s wise to speak to an attorney about how to proceed. Your attorney will help you during this time and offer you guidance, advice, and a realistic outline of your case. The legal process is not an easy one for domestic violence charges. While you can attempt to handle your case on your own, this could result in a worse outcome than if you had legal representation.

I am Here to Help

An experienced attorney like Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, can help you craft a defense strategy that is appropriate for your situation. There are many possible defenses to domestic violence charges including that the wrong party is being charged, self-defense, acts in defense of someone else, false accusations, police misconduct, and lack of evidence. The right approach in your case could lead to reduced charges or even a dismissal of your case altogether. When you are facing serious charges, contact an attorney for assistance as soon as you can. Being convicted of a serious crime will impact your life for many months and even years to come, and your very freedom could even be on the line. In this type of situation, you simply can’t afford to leave anything about your case to chance.

Understanding Domestic Violence Charges in Arizona See more on: https://www.azcrimlaw.com Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Some Key Facts Concerning Motorcyclists in Arizona

As a former prosecutor and an experienced criminal attorney, Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, offers zealous representation in DUI cases involving motorcyclists. The Scottsdale-based law firm offers useful educational information for the public about DUI's and motorcycles in the Grand Canyon State: Key Facts Concerning DUIs

Six Key Background Facts About Arizona Motorcyclists

  1. The State of Arizona specifically licenses drivers of motorcycles. These individuals apply to receive an "M" class license endorsement. The standard M license expires at age 65, although drivers must renew the photo and eye exam portions of the application at 12-year intervals. Applicants for an M class license endorsement age 60 or older receive a five-year motorcycle license.
  2. Arizona registers motorcycles. The Statista website estimates some 170,240 registered motorcycles operated in Arizona during 2018 alone. In 2020, a registered motorcycle exists in Arizona for every 36 people in the population. The state ranks 29th in terms of motorcycle ownership nationwide.
  3. Arizona promulgates specific traffic regulations for motorcycles. These provisions allow a motorcycle to use a complete traffic lane. However, state traffic regulations also permit motorcyclists to ride in a two abreast formation. Motorcycle riders cannot ride with more than two motorcycles abreast, however. Additionally, they cannot pass an auto in the same lane, or drive between adjoining rows of autos.
  4. Motorcyclists in Arizona must carry liability insurance. As of 2014, Arizona required motorcyclists to carry specified minimum levels of liability insurance to protect against property damage and physical injuries.
  5. Motorcyclists must meet specific requirements to transport passengers. Both the driver and passenger require their own seats and footrests. ARS 28.924.B specifically requires that motorcycles in Arizona possess functional headlamps.
  6. Motorcycle safety poses a big concern in Arizona. Between 2016 and 2017, Arizona departed from national trends by witnessing an upturn in motorcyclist traffic fatalities. Some 165 motorcycle deaths occurred in Arizona during 2017, an increase of 14.6% over the previous year.

DUI's And Motorcyclists in Arizona

  1. Arizona maintains an Implied Consent Law. It impacts all drivers in the state, including motorcyclists. The law requires drivers arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) to consent to a blood alcohol or drug content testing as a condition of retaining one’s driving privileges. Refusing the test (or failing to cooperate in its completion) automatically results in the loss of driving privileges.
  2. DUI laws apply to Arizona motorcyclists. The regulations prohibiting DUI in Arizona apply to motorcyclists as well as automobile drivers.
  3. Arizona prohibits any alcohol blood concentration levels for some drivers. Drivers (including motorcyclists) under age 21 who have arrested for DUI risk the suspension of their license with the detection of any concentration level of alcohol in the bloodstream.
  4. Motorcycle DUI's in Arizona carry steep penalties. A first DUI conviction results in a minimum 10-day jail sentence, with 9 days suspended, and a fine of at least $1,500. A defendant convicted of this offence must undergo substance abuse or alcohol counselling.  Arizona requires the modification of the ignition to include an interlock device to prevent impaired driving. A second subsequent offence carries a jail sentence of at least 90 days in jail, with 60 days suspended, and minimum fines of at least $3,500, along with the mandatory substance abuse or alcohol counselling.
  5. Extreme DUI carries elevated penalties. Defendants with a blood alcohol content of 0.15 or above incur significant penalties and fines for DUI.
  6. Super-extreme DUI carries even greater elevated penalties. Defendants with a blood alcohol content of 0.20 or above incur ever-greater penalties and fines for DUI.
  7. An Aggravated DUI conviction, which is a felony, carries prison time. An aggravated DUI arises in four specific circumstances:
    1. Refusing a DUI blood test or committing a DUI while currently subject to an ignition lock requirement
    2. Previously convicted of a DUI two times within a 7-year period
    3. Committing DUI with a suspended, cancelled, or revoked license
    4. Committing DUI while transporting anyone under age 15
  1. Arizona may require a certified interlock ignition manufacturer to install a motorcycle ignition lock. This process increases the overall costs of incurring a motorcycle DUI in Arizona.

Find a Knowledgeable DUI Attorney

Motorcyclists facing DUI charges in Arizona can sustain potentially serious consequences if convicted. Thus, it generally makes sense to seek experienced, skilled representation in this type of case. To discuss your case with an aggressive criminal defense attorney, speak with Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law. Contact him through his office in Scottsdale, or by calling 480-860-4321 to request a free initial consultation.

Some Key Facts Concerning Motorcyclists in Arizona was first seen on (www.azcrimlaw.com) Robert Dodell Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Monday, May 18, 2020

Arizona Age Of Consent: Some Important Facts

There are multiple elements in law that have an effect on the outcome of cases. One of the major factors always considered is the age of the people involved in the case. One of the most classic applications of age in legal matters is the age of consent. This has placed countless individuals in Arizona and beyond into legal trouble, both justified and otherwise. Given its sensitivity, it’s appropriate that we further discuss the age of consent in the state of Arizona and what it means for those who are facing cases where age affects what they can be charged with and even whether their actions were a violation of the law. Police Misconduct The age of consent is defined as the minimum age when a person is considered old enough to participate legally in any sexual activity. Age of consent differs from state to state. In Arizona, the age of consent is set at 18 years old. This means that a person who is 17 years old or below is not considered legally able to consent to sexual activity. This is because they are not yet considered an adult. Even if the person involved consented to the sexual act, if they are 17 years old or below, their partner can be implicated in a crime if they engage in any sexual act with them. Interestingly, these statutory offences make any sexual conduct a crime if one is not at least 18 years of age.  This is actually relatively common in the practice of criminal law. This is due to multiple factors and it doesn’t necessarily involve adults with sexually predatory behaviors. As long as one of the parties involved is below the age of consent, their partner could potentially be charged with a sex crime, especially if their parent or legal guardian takes issue with the action. It is a relatively common occurrence for a number of reasons. First, both men and women under the age of consent may be involved in sexual acts, willingly or otherwise. Also, sexual experimentation and promiscuity are high in America, even at a young age. Those who can file charges for a sex crime include the minor himself/herself and their parents/guardians. Regardless of the reason for such charges, the consequences for the accused can be severe: it can even be filed as a felony charge, depending on factors such as the age of the child (the lower the age below the age of consent, and the wider the age difference, the harsher the penalties are), the presence of exploitation, coercion, and/or harassment, and involvement with other criminal acts (pornography, prostitution). Potential charges can increase further depending on these factors. The committing of a sex crime that involves minors, is heavily condemned worldwide for good reason. However, it must be recognized that not everyone who is charged with such a crime is rightfully indicted. A lot of these cases are filed as an act of retaliation, either by parents who do not agree with their child entering a relationship at a young age or someone who wants to get revenge on an ex. Because of the severe punishments involved in sexual acts committed under the age of consent, legal intervention is necessary to settle such cases fairly. Both the accuser (the person under the age of consent and/or their representatives) and the defendant (the person accused of being involved in sexual acts with a person under the age of consent) have the right to proper legal representation in such cases. That means getting the right criminal attorney to represent them in the process of resolving such cases. If you are dealing with a case involving the Arizona age of consent, the best thing you can do is to ask for legal advice. Get legal assistance here at Robert A. Dodell, Attorney At Law. A lawyer for more than 30 years, my practice focuses on criminal law. I can provide legal assistance in Scottsdale, Tempe and Mesa. for those who are either pushing a case on violation of the age of consent, or those who are being charged in such cases and feel that they are being wrongfully accused. Visit my office, call me, or visit my website to know more about my services or to set up an appointment. I am ready to help you out with this and other cases where the help of a criminal lawyer is needed. If you want to know more about the services of Robert A. Dodell, or set up an appointment, you can visit my office at 10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103, Scottsdale, AZ. You can also call me at (480) 860-4321 or send an email to Robert@AZcrimlaw.com.  

Arizona Age Of Consent: Some Important Facts Read more on: Law Offices of Robert Dodell Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Monday, May 11, 2020

Can I Get a DUI If I Am Not Driving?

Driving under the influence, also known as DUI, is a criminal offence that cuts across all parts of society. Driving under the influence of alcohol or illegal substances is a bad idea in any part of the globe, mainly because of the potential of causing harm or death to yourself and others. This is especially so in Arizona, a state boasting arguably the toughest DUI laws in the United States. One of the most common questions I receive is if it is possible to get a DUI when you aren’t driving. In this article, I will try to answer this question and provide other handy info on the state’s DUI laws. The short answer to this question is “Yes”, you can still get a DUI offence even when you are not driving. This is made possible by the clause in DUI law known as “actual physical control”. This part of the law states that, if you are in actual physical control of a vehicle, even when you are NOT driving it, you can be charged with, and possibly convicted for, a DUI. Whether the person is in “actual physical control” or is driving, Arizona’s severe penalties are the same.  It is still a major inconvenience that has affected many people based on our experience in handling these cases. So how does “actual physical control” come into play? Actual physical control can be invoked when your car is running, regardless of which seat you are in at the time of the apprehension. You can also be considered to have physical control of the vehicle even when the engine is turned off. If the car keys are slotted in the ignition (even when the car is not running) and/or you are sitting at the driver’s seat, you can be charged with a DUI as well. Also, being at the driver’s seat and having possession of the keys (ex.: in your pocket) can also be grounds to suggest you had physical control of a motor vehicle. There are other situations surrounding your arrest that can further increase your chance of being given a DUI charge, even when you are not driving. If your car is parked at an inappropriate spot, like in the middle of the road, you are more likely than not going to be assumed to have parked it while inebriated. If your car is obstructing someone’s private property or your presence is preventing another car from moving, you’re more likely to be flagged for a DUI. The worst thing is getting involved in an accident, even when your car is not moving. You cannot be charged with a DUI if you do not have alcohol or other illicit substances in your system. A DUI in Arizona is filed if you are in actual physical control or in the operation of a motor vehicle and (1) impaired to the slightest degree by alcohol or drugs, (2) have a  blood alcohol concentration is measured at .08% BAC and above, or (3) have any illicit drugs in your system. So, how can you avoid incurring a DUI offence? Make sure to not drive with alcohol or drugs in your system. For everything else, it would be best to know your rights as a defendant. You can be indicted with a DUI if you are in possession of a motor vehicle and intoxicated. However, it must be ascertained first that you are indeed driving or in actual physical control of the vehicle and that you are acting inappropriately on the road. So, there you have it. Even if the terms may sound counter-intuitive, it is indeed possible that you can be charged with a DUI when you are not driving. If you are dealing with a DUI case and/or have been implicated in one, then you need legal help to protect your rights and keep your criminal record clean. The help of a criminal lawyer will prove valuable in such situations. You can get the legal help you need right here at Robert A. Dodell, Attorney At Law. With over 30 years of experience in criminal law, Attorney Dodell knows how to defend DUI cases in Tempe. If you want to know more about the services of Robert A. Dodell or you want to set up an appointment, you can visit the office at 10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103, Scottsdale, AZ. You can also call me at (480) 860-4321 or send an email to Robert@AZcrimlaw.com.

Can I Get a DUI If I Am Not Driving? was originally published on write up on the Robert Dodell Blog Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Saturday, May 9, 2020

Domestic Violence Charges Defense in Mesa AZ

Domestic violence charges should always be taken very seriously. Arizona laws are very aggressive about domestic violence charges, and the penalties associated with these charges are severe. The State has the authority to charge and prosecute a person for domestic violence even if the alleged victim does not wish to pursue the case. Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, provides criminal defense representation for anyone who has been charged with or is under investigation for a domestic violence crime. I understand that being convicted of this serious charge could change your life. I make sure that your rights are protected, and your side of the case is heard.

Domestic Violence Crimes Cases We Have Defended

There are many crimes that could be charged as domestic violence. The crime is the underlying charge; domestic violence is a qualifies that crime. Domestic violence is almost any criminal act of abuse committed by one “family or household member” against another. The crimes are not all violent in nature. Examples of such crimes include:
  • Assault
  • Assault with a deadly weapon
  • Trespass
  • Disorderly Conduct
  • Threatening or Intimidating
  • Endangerment
  • Violation of Restraining Orders
  • Harassment
  • Sexual assault
  • Abuse of a child or vulnerable adult
  • Unlawful restraint, unlawful imprisonment, or kidnapping
  • Stalking and
  • Manslaughter
  • Homicide
The penalties increase when the crime is one of domestic violence.. Make sure to protect your rights and seek legal representation.

Penalties for Domestic Violence Conviction

If you’re convicted of domestic violence as a first-time offender without any additional charges, you can expect the following penalties:

Misdemeanor Convictions:

  • Class 3 - Up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine up to $500
  • Class 2 - Up to four months in jail and/or a fine up to $750
  • Class 1 - Up to six months in jail and/or a fine up to $2,500

Felony Convictions

  • Class 6 - Prison term ranging from four months to 2 years, with a presumptive term of imprisonment for one year
  • Class 5 - Prison term ranging from six months to 2.5 years, with a presumptive term of imprisonment for 1.5 years
  • Class 4 - Prison term ranging from one year to 3.75 years, with a presumptive term of imprisonment for 2.5 years
  • Class 3 - Prison term ranging from 2 years to 8.75 years with a presumptive term of imprisonment for 3.5 years
  • Class 2 - Prison term from 3 years to 12.5 years, with a presumptive term of imprisonment for five years
If multiple charges or additional charges have been levied against you, you can expect more severe penalties.. If you have been previously convicted of any felony, you can expect an even substantially greater penalty as allowed by law..

Consequences of a DV Case Conviction

A domestic violence conviction will have many personal consequences outside of court penalties. If you are convicted of this charge, you may also face:
  • Limited visitation with your children
  • Loss of your rights for gun ownership
  • Notification of the conviction to professional licensing boards
  • If convicted of a felony, you may need to disclose this information on job and rental applications
A conviction of domestic violence will also place strain on personal relationships with friends and family, cause problems at your place of employment, and impact chances for job growth.

Why You Should Hire Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law

Attorney Robert A. Dodell understands the seriousness of facing a domestic violence charge. I understand that a conviction will affect all areas of your life and that having good legal representation will make a difference in the outcome of your case. My law firm is compassionate and understanding. I am not here to pass judgment. I am here to protect your rights and help you build a solid case for your defense. I am here to make sure that your side of the story is heard and that your evidence is examined. I am here to protect your Constitutional right to a fair trial. My law firm will investigate your case thoroughly and help you build a good defense for the charges against you. I will:
  • Review the arrest record and the events leading to the arrest
  • Interview witnesses
  • Review all evidence against you
  • Review all evidence in your favor
  • Aggressively represent your case in court
There is no reason that you should ever face the court alone with such serious charges. Contact Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, for quality criminal legal representation.  

Domestic Violence Charges Defense in Mesa AZ is republished from Robert Dodell Law Offices Domestic Violence Charges Defense in Mesa AZ first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Criminal Charges Defense in Mesa AZ

It’s difficult to find an accurate word that can describe the emotions that you feel when you are forced into handcuffs and taken away by the police. Fear, confusion, chaos, all of these thoughts and feelings are going through your head. You may even feel despair because you are not sure where to turn for help. I understand these feelings, and I am here to help. Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, has dedicated his law practice to providing legal representation to those accused of crimes. As a criminal defense attorney, I understand that this is a very trying time in your life, and I will treat you with the respect and compassion you need. It is my job to listen to your side of the story and gather the evidence and information necessary to represent you in your case. I will use all the resources available to represent you in your case. Previous clients have reported being very happy with the outcome of their cases. If you have been accused or charged with a crime, do not delay. Contact Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, for a case evaluation.

Common Types of Criminal Cases We Defend

My law office is equipped to handle any type of criminal charge. It has been our experience, however, that the most common types of criminal charges that our law firm sees are:
  • DUI – Regular, Aggravated, and Multiple Offense
  • Assault, Aggravated Assault, Assault and Battery
  • Domestic Violence
  • Theft – Including Shoplifting
  • Property Crimes
  • Vehicular Crimes
  • Drug Charges
  • Sexual Offenses
My law firm has the ability to represent a client charged with any crime, not just those included in the list above.

Misdemeanor vs. Felony Charges

Criminal activity is categorized as either a misdemeanor or a felony. The difference between the two types of crimes usually depends on the seriousness of the crime in question and the potential penalty. Misdemeanors are typically heard in a city or justice court. A misdemeanor crime carries the maximum of six months in the local jail. Felonies are much more serious and the sentence could include prison in the Arizona Department of Corrections. Felony offenses are heard in the County Superior Court. If you are unsure what type of crime you are being charged with, consult with a knowledgeable attorney, like Robert A. Dodell, so that you understand the charges and potential penalties that could be leveled against you.

Penalties and Fines for Criminal Cases

Every criminal charge has a different set of penalties and fines that can be imposed if a person is convicted. Additionally, if multiple charges have been brought against a person, or if they are a repeat offender, the penalties will be more severe. The court will use a guideline for sentencing. However, this is not a guarantee of what will be imposed in your case.

Potential Criminal Charge Penalties

  • Court-mandated therapy for drugs, alcohol, or anger management
  • Fines
  • Restitution
  • Community Service
  • Probation
  • Loss of Driving Privileges
  • The requirement to use Ignition Interlock Device
  • County Jail Time
  • Prison Sentence
The court has the right to impose one or more of the penalties on a person depending on the facts of their case.

Potential jail time for misdemeanors and felonies by class are:

Misdemeanor Convictions

• Class 1 – Up to 6 months in county jail • Class 2 – Up to 3 months in county jail • Class 3 – Up to 30 days in county jail

Felony Convictions

• Class 1 – Up to life in prison or the death sentence • Class 2 – Up to 12.5 years • Class 3 – Up to 8.75 years • Class 4 – Up to 3.75 years • Class 5 – Up to 2.5 years • Class 6 – Up to 2 years

Juvenile Criminal Representation

If you are the parent or guardian of a juvenile that has been accused of a crime, you are encouraged to seek legal representation from a law firm that understands the juvenile court system. My law firm understands that juvenile cases must be handled with care. I know that this is a traumatic experience for the child or teen and I will work with them in a compassionate and caring manner. I will also work closely with the child and family to get them a positive outcome for their case. Nearly all juvenile cases are handled in juvenile court, a separate court system. My law firm has the necessary experience in managing cases in this court system as well as representing minors who are being charged as adults.

Why Hire The Criminal Defense Attorney Robert A. Dodell?

Attorney Robert A. Dodell has dedicated his law practice to helping those facing the uncertainty of criminal charges. Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, is committed to protecting the rights of those who have been accused of any crime. My law office has successfully represented clients who have been charged with a variety of criminal and juvenile acts. I understand the law, and I understand how to build a defense case. If you are facing any type of criminal charge, from a basic misdemeanor to a Class 1 felony, you are encouraged to schedule a consultation with Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law. Quality criminal defense representation can make a significant difference in the outcome of your case.  

Criminal Charges Defense in Mesa AZ was originally published to AZ Crim Law – Robert Dodell Criminal Charges Defense in Mesa AZ first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

DUI Charges & Cases Defense in Mesa, AZ

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), you may face severe penalties if convicted. A charge of DUI should always be taken seriously, and you should certainly seek legal representation. Arizona has stringent DUI laws, and the city and county attorneys for the State of Arizona are very dedicated to prosecuting these cases to the fullest extent. If you have been charged with a DUI, you face hefty fines and jail time. A conviction of a DUI may also lead to issues at work and the possible requirement to purchase SR22 insurance on your vehicle in the future.

Affordable and Aggressive DUI & DWI Lawyer

Driving Under the Influence and Driving While Intoxicated are two terms used for essentially the  same criminal charge. The police and the court systems often use these terms interchangeably, with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) being the most commonly used term. DUI or DWI can apply to driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, whether those drugs are prescription, over the counter or illegal.

What is a Misdemeanor vs. Felony DUI in Mesa Arizona?

The state of Arizona has categorized their DUI charges as either misdemeanors or felonies to help the courts determine the penalties associated with the conviction. The state has also subcategorized these categories to include different levels of intoxication: regular, extreme, and super extreme. The facts of your arrest will determine what type and level you will be charged with when you go to court. The main differences between a misdemeanor and a felony is the severity of the penalties. A misdemeanor sentence that requires jail time will most likely be spent in the city or county jail,  while a felony jail sentence may be much longer and required to be served in a prison.

What are the Misdemeanor DUI Penalties and Fines?

Anyone who is arrested for a DUI with a blood-alcohol level (BAC) of .15% or less, if it is their first, and possibly second, arrest for this offense will be charged with a misdemeanor DUI. Arizona law requires that any first offense conviction of misdemeanor DUI requires at least ten days in jail. However, nine days can be suspended if the person successfully completes a mandatory alcohol screening and classes.. A fine and fees of approximately $1,600 will be imposed on the person convicted, not including the cost of jail, the Ignition Interlock Device or increased automobile insurance premiums.

What are the Extreme DUI Penalties and Fines?

An Extreme DUI is one where a person who was arrested had a BAC level of .151 to .199%. Arizona law mandates, on a first offense, a 30-day jail sentence with the potential to suspend 21 days of that sentence if the person installs the Ignition Interlock Device into their vehicle for at least one year.  Of the remaining jail time, 80% of the time may be eligible for home detention or the Continuous Alcohol Monitoring Program.  The law requires successful completion of a mandatory alcohol screening and classes.. A fine and fees of approximately $2800 will be imposed on the person convicted, not including the cost of jail, the ignition interlock device or increased automobile insurance premiums.

What are the Super Extreme DUI Penalties and Fines?

Any DUI arrest that has a BAC of .20% or higher is considered a super extreme DUI. With a first offense, there is a mandatory jail sentence of 45 days with 31 days eligible for suspension if the person installs the Ignition Interlock Device into their vehicle for at least one year.   Of the remaining jail time, 80% of the time may be eligible for home detention or the Continuous Alcohol Monitoring Program.  The law requires successful completion of a mandatory alcohol screening and classes.. A fine and fees of approximately $3200 will be imposed on the person convicted, not including the cost of jail, the ignition interlock device or increased automobile insurance premiums. It should be understood that these are just the minimum penalties. If there was an accident or any other aggravating factors, the court could impose stricter penalties..If you have a second offense DUI within 72 months, the penalties increase substantially.  

What are the Felony DUI Penalties and Fines?

A felony DUI is officially charged as an Aggravated DUI or Aggravated DWI. You will only be charged with aggravated DUI if: • This is your third arrest in a 72-month period for DUI • You were driving under the influence when you were supposed to have an Ignition Interlock Device in place • You were driving with a suspended or revoked license • You had a person age 15 or under in the vehicle at the time of your arrest (“Child in Car”} All felony DUI convictions require a prison sentence, except for the Felony DUI with a Child in Car.  If it is your first conviction, you will spend a minimum of 4 months in prison with a maximum of up to 3.75 years in prison, with supervised probation for up to 10 years..  The fine is approximately $4,700 and your driver’s privileges will be revoked for a period of one year.  You will also be required to use an Ignition Interlock Device for two years.. If it is your second or third felony conviction, you can expect substantial more prison time and fines with each conviction.

Why Hire Attorney Robert A. Dodell as Your Defense Attorney

Any time that you face a DUI or DWI charge, you should have quality legal representation. A conviction, even for a misdemeanor, can change everything about your life. You will face jail or prison time, large fines, and many other associated expenses.  These expenses will not just be the ones imposed by the Mesa court. If you are convicted of any level of DUI, you may have to carry SR22 insurance. This is an expensive policy that will be required because of the conviction. You will also face additional personal expenses such as transportation costs while your driving privileges are revoked. To arrive at the best possible outcome for your DUI arrest, work with Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law.  I have helped many people successfully fight their DUI arrests and arrive at the best outcome for their case.  

DUI Charges & Cases Defense in Mesa, AZ Find more on: Law Offices of Robert Dodell DUI Charges & Cases Defense in Mesa, AZ first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Tips for Preparing Your Defense With Your Criminal Lawyer

Questions and Advice to Help You With a Criminal Case

Being charged with a crime can be quite a frightening experience. This is especially true for first time offenders or if this is your first time dealing with the country’s criminal justice system. Remember that being charged with a criminal offence doesn’t need to end in jail time. That’s why preparing your defense with the help of your criminal lawyer is an important step. Doing so will help you pursue the best possible outcome. Without proper legal representation, however, even one mistake could be detrimental to your case. Here are our tips to help you prepare your when meeting with a prospective legal counsel. Hiring a Criminal Lawyer to Represent You

What You Should Prepare for Your Initial Meeting

There are things that you should prepare prior to meeting with your criminal defense lawyer. The following items will be helpful when discussing how to handle the defense of your case. You ought to bring the following to the initial meeting:
  • All police and court documents. These should state what assault charges were made against you. They may also include the setting of the hearing or any other appearance in court.
  • You may also want to bring any property search papers that the police may have given you. Any documents that concern a bail will also come in handy.
  • Bring a written copy of all your contact information. You can print this out on a sheet. This, of course, will help your attorney in case they need to get in touch with you.
  • If you were able to get a copy of your police report, then bring that to the meeting as well.
  • Bring a list of witnesses that may help build your defense. This list should include anyone who can testify of your character, confirm your alibi, or anyone who can corroborate your story.
  • Bring any item that may be used as evidence. This includes documents, videotapes, photos, and other items.
  • Written information about your professional as well as your personal background. This could be information that will have a bearing on your case.
  • Records of any prior convictions and criminal charges will help your attorney process your defense as well.

Questions You Should Ask Your Defense Attorney

There are also a few questions that you should ask your defense attorney during your meeting. Asking them will ensure that you get all the important information that you will need for any future proceedings.
  • How does your attorney charge for his or her services?
  • How strong is your lawyer’s expertise with your type of case?
  • How many similar cases have they handled in the past?
  • What were the outcomes of their most recent cases?
  • What is their estimated time before this case can be resolved?
  • How often do I have to appear in court?
  • Will they be handling this case personally?
  • Is your attorney easy to get in contact with?
  • Will there be someone else from the firm that will be involved in my case?
  • What are the worst-case scenarios of my case?
  • What are the best-case scenarios of this case?
  • Do you see any possible difficulties with constructing my defense for this case?
  • What are my options under the criminal justice system?

Prepare to Answer Your Lawyer’s Questions

Your lawyer might also ask you some important questions to represent you effectively and efficiently. Answering them honestly will help your case and it is in your best interest to do so.
  • What did the police do leading up to your arrest? What did they do during and also after you were arrested?
  • How did the authorities approach you?
  • What did they say?
  • Where were you when you were arrested?
  • What did you, or anyone with you, say in those circumstances?
  • What did you do, what did you hear, and what did you say?

Three Important Rules of Thumb

Abide by these 3 rules of thumb when preparing your defense with an attorney:
  • Cooperation – Your lawyer will require your full cooperation. Be as forthcoming as you can.
  • Coordination – Coordinate with your lawyer and don’t think that you can formulate a better strategy. You will need all the legal advice you can get.
  • Communication –Keep in constant communication with your attorney. Any bit of info that you can get or recall may help build your case.

Contact Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law

Your chances of a favorable outcome will greatly improve with proper legal advice, especially if you’re facing criminal charges. For effective defense for criminal and other related charges, you may call or email Robert A. Dodell, Criminal Attorney At Law.  

The following article Tips for Preparing Your Defense With Your Criminal Lawyer was originally published to (Robert . Dodell Law Offices Tips for Preparing Your Defense With Your Criminal Lawyer first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Thursday, April 16, 2020

DUI Conviction Under 21 Consequences in Arizona

Is Arizona a zero-tolerance state for minors? The quick and easy answer to that question is yes, it is. This means that, even if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is below 0.08%, an officer can still arrest you. Drug Use Lead to a DUI

DUI Implications for Minors

Under DUI law in Arizona, authorities will file charges against a minor if they have been found to have any amount of alcohol in their system while driving. It doesn’t matter how much they’ve had at the time. It doesn’t matter if the minor was not impaired to drive. It doesn’t matter whether or not they can prove that they only had one drink. Any alcohol level will get you in trouble if you are a minor behind the wheel of a vehicle. If you are within the age range of 18 to 21 years old and have been arrested for underage DUI, then you may be facing harsh consequences. Arizona law may treat the case similar to that of an adult driving under influence, though this can depend on the severity of the case. There will be no need to prove that your BAC is above or below 0.08%. You will end up facing two charges. First, you will be charged against the prohibition for driving under the influence, and second, you will face charges against drinking under the legal drinking age.

Consequences of DUI Under 21 in Arizona

Let’s emphasize this point: there is no acceptable blood alcohol concentration level is very strict states like Arizona. They have no tolerance for underage drinking and even less for underage drinking and driving. On top of that, a conviction for a driver in the state who is under the age of 21 is very undesirable. Here are some of the penalties that such a conviction may carry:

Understanding the Consequences of Underage Drunk Driving in Arizona

Note that the penalties for driving under the influence will vary with the age of the person that has been apprehended. If you are a minor, under the age of 18 years, then you will be under the jurisdiction of juvenile law. Adults, of course, will be tried accordingly with applicable Arizona laws and statutes. You will be considered an adult in this state if you are anywhere from 18 to 21 years old. Note that whether you are 18 to 21 or below 18, if you are apprehended at a police stop then that already constitutes an arrest. That is especially true if you test positive for any form of traceable alcohol in your bloodstream. As you can see from our list above, the penalties imposed by the State of Arizona can be quite harsh, even for minors, but they will be processed differently if you are tried as a minor. This may be somewhat of a comfort for parents. Here are some of the possible penalties that a minor might face under Arizona law:
  • Court-mandated substance abuse program
  • Spending time in juvenile detention
  • License suspension for two years

Aggravating Factors

Note that the court will consider other aggravating factors when it comes to the judgment of any case in Arizona. Some of these factors include:
  • Significantly high blood alcohol content
  • Injury to a third party
  • Damage to property
  • Loss of life
In some extreme cases, especially when the damage to property or injury caused are severe, then a minor driving under the influence may be processed under adult law and its corresponding penalties. Need a Lawyer to Handle Your Underage DUI Case? Maybe you don’t want your employer to know about underage DUI charges or maybe you don’t want your parents to know. People may need expert advice under such circumstances for different reasons. We advise you not to plead guilty at arraignment court.  Consult an experienced lawyer before you go to court. For effective defense for this and other related charges, you may call or email Robert A. Dodell, Attorney At Law. Visit our website below: https://www.azcrimlaw.com Get free initial consultation today!  

DUI Conviction Under 21 Consequences in Arizona is republished from Law Offices of Robert Dodell DUI Conviction Under 21 Consequences in Arizona first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Tuesday, March 17, 2020

How Do You Expunge a Felony?

Expungement is the act of striking out, obliterating, or marking something for deletion. In legal processes, what is expunged is a person’s criminal records, treating these records as if they did not at any time in the past exist. Arizona does not have a true expungement statute, as in some other State. Arizona has a “Set Aside” statute. If the court has cleared you of all charges, or you have served your time and paid the fines stated in your sentence, it is only just that the system allows you to get a fresh start. Hiring a Criminal Lawyer to Represent You

Requirements

There are specific criteria to meet before once can file a petition to set aside a conviction. These criteria may include:
  • Satisfying terms of conviction (jail time, fines, restitution, etc.)
  • Providing evidence of clean record after a conviction
  • Showing the court evidence of rehabilitation and contribution to the good of society (volunteer work, education, employment, etc.)
  • Although there is no statutory time frame, many courts may have a waiting period from the completion of all the terms of the conviction before it will entertain a set-aside.
Generally, the petition is filed with the particular court where the criminal case was heard and decided.

Expunging a Criminal Record in Arizona

Technically, AZ law does not provide for an expungement of criminal records. One’s records will stay in the books until he/she reaches the age of 99, even if probation terms have already been met. Check Ariz. Admin. Code R13-1-102 (2018). However, one who is seeking an expungement may opt for a judge to “set aside” their conviction, where some of the benefits of a full expungement can also be acquired. At the very least, the judge will void your conviction. As part of the court’s decision, the judge must be convinced that it is in the best interest that your conviction is set aside. Furthermore, the judge must have a strong belief that approving the petition is “consistent with the public welfare.'' However, voiding your conviction does not mean the charge and the conviction you received will be deleted from the records. Your future employer might want to check on you, and if he does check on your criminal records, he would see the set-aside order that specifies that you were able to fulfill your probation or sentence terms, that the court vacated your conviction, and that the charges filed against you have been dismissed. Certain conditions disqualify a person from having their petition approved, such as:
  • Commission of a dangerous offence
  • Commission of a crime where you were required to register as a sex offender
  • Conviction where the offence involves a “finding of sexual motivation” - “Finding of sexual motivation” means that one of the purposes for committing the crime was sexual gratification
  • Offence committed against a person under 15 years old
  • Certain driving offences

Process of Felony Expungement

There are fees to pay to the court, and courts usually post the payment details on their websites. If you have multiple criminal cases, you will have to pay for each separately. Following your application, the prosecutors involved in your case will be notified about your intent. Whether or not an objection from them is raised, the judge will proceed and decide on the application to set aside without a hearing. Therefore it is important to present the request with all the information needed to give the judge reason to grant the application. Filing out the form for the set aside is not enough. It is important to get letters from employers, friends and family about how much your life has been turned around and your road toward rehabilitation. The judge needs to know how important it is that the set aside to be granted for you. Without it, you may lose the chance to gain employment and lose future opportunities that will come your way. The judge will decide either in favor of set aside, which means your conviction will be rendered void or against it, which, in this case, means that your request is denied.

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law – Get Legal Help

The rules for setting aside criminal records in Arizona are complicated. To learn more about it, get help from Robert, an experienced criminal defense , bringing in over 30 years of solid practice in every legal case that he handles - fervently defending his clients’ rights.

How Do You Expunge a Felony? is available on www.azcrimlaw.com robert a dodell attorney How Do You Expunge a Felony? first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Can I Have My Gun Rights Restored?

Most states have similar gun rights provisions in their laws, with slight variations from state to state. Provisions in the law for gun right restoration after a felony is usually discussed in a section titled “certificate of rehabilitation” or “restoration of rights”. Criteria for restoration is not a strict one. Generally, there should only be one felony conviction, and it is not considered a serious offence. The felony sentence will need to have been completed,  whether the sentence was prison or jail or probation. You must have paid all your court fees and restitution, and lived an irreproachable life ever since. My Gun Rights Restored Then, you can ask the court that sentenced you “guilty beyond a reasonable doubt”, and if the circumstances favor you, with the help of a criminal lawyer in weapons charges, the court may restore your gun rights.

Gun Rights Laws in Arizona

Arizona law provides two ways for felons to receive the gun right restoration.
  • If the offence is “not serious”
You petition the court after the completion of probation, or the date absolute discharge from incarceration to restore your rights.
  • If the offence is a “serious” offence defined under Class 6 felony 13-604 (first- or second-degree murder, and aggravated assault that results in serious physical injury, sexual assault, manslaughter, armed robbery, kidnapping, etc.)  You can ask the court for restoration of your 2nd Amendment rights 10 years after release from prison or completion of probation.
  • Note: If the conviction is for a “dangerous” felony offence, you cannot ever restore your gun rights. In Arizona, “dangerous offence” as defined by the Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-105(13), involves “the use, discharge, or threatening display of a deadly weapon or instrument or the intentional infliction of serious physical injuries on another person”.

Common Pitfalls to Gun Rights Restoration

The following conditions may cause a denial of your request to restore your gun rights:
  • A conviction due to a serious offence calls for a 10-year wait period after release from prison or end of probation. Any request for gun rights restoration filed short of the required wait period will be denied.
  • Approval or denial of requests may also depend on the nature of the offence.
  • In the case of multiple priors or subsequent priors, it could be difficult for the convict to convince the court to grant his motion.
  • Another reason for denial is unpaid fines or restitution. Satisfying this requirement might sound easy, but many offenders trying to meet this requirement might find it to be the hardest to fulfill. Depending on the state, the fines can be exorbitantly high, and that is true with Arizona.  In Arizona, until you pay to the last cent you will not even be eligible to file a motion for your conviction to be set aside.
If your application is denied, you can ask your lawyer about the best way to proceed. There are options including refiling immediately with more information and allowing more time to pass before refiling.

How to Choose the Right Attorney for Gun Rights Restoration

Prosecutors representing the government may object to a motion for restoration even for non-violent crimes. This is why you need a lawyer to fight for your rights to the end. When looking for the right lawyer, ask these questions:
  • Are the lawyer’s experience and background sufficient for your legal fight to have your rights restored?
  • Do you think he is someone you will feel comfortable working with?
  • Do you feel comfortable with the fees and how they are structured?
It is in your best interest to get a lawyer’s service. The attorney will make sure that the process is properly done the first time - This translates to a higher chance of succeeding to secure your gun rights again and prevent unnecessary delays

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law

Robert is one of the best lawyers you can find in AZ. He has over 30 years of experience practicing criminal law and handling thousands of cases. He will defend your rights and prove that it is just that your gun rights be restored.

Can I Have My Gun Rights Restored? is courtesy of Robert A. Dodell Can I Have My Gun Rights Restored? first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

What Makes an Assault Aggravated?

Misdemeanor assault charges can be raised to felony assault charges if there are aggravating factors surrounding the crime. In Arizona, these crimes are taken seriously as they are crimes that cause injury to another person. If charged with aggravated assault, you will need an experienced assault lawyer to represent you in court and make sure your rights are protected and you will be treated fairly in accordance with the equal treatment provisions stated in the law. If you need an excellent lawyer in Arizona, you should consider Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law. They’ve handled thousands of clients in their over 30 years of experience as a criminal defense attorney and as a prosecutor. Robert will help you defend yourself and maintain your legal rights.

What Is Classified as Assault?

Assault is defined as three separate possible acts.  (1) Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes physical injury to another person. (2) Intentionally placing another in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury or (3) Knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke the person.

When Is an Assault an Aggravated Assault?

The law in Arizona classifies assaults as either as a simple misdemeanor assault or as an aggravated, which is a felony.  There needs to be more than just the misdemeanor assault before a felony can be charged. Additional factors must exist.

Aggravated Assault in Arizona

In Arizona, the first definition of assault must be met if you are to be charged with aggravated assault. If you have committed any of the following acts from this partial list, the State of Arizona will most likely file an aggravated assault charge.
  • You have seriously injured the person or have used a dangerous weapon in committing the assault;
  • If you use force on the person, causing temporary but substantial disfigurement, loss or impairment of a body organ or part, or fracture of any body part;
  • If you commit the assault while the person is physically restrained or their ability to defend themselves is substantially impaired;
  • You have forcefully entered a home with the intention to assault a resident living there;
  • If you are 18 years or older and commit an assault on a minor under 15 years old;
  • You have assaulted someone who has a judicial restraining order against you;
  • If you assault a public officer including constable, EMT, firefighter, licensed healthcare practitioner, peace officer, police officer, park ranger, public defender or criminal prosecutor, judicial officer, school employee, or teacher, while that person is working in their official duty.

Aggravated Assault Sentences in Arizona

Charges range from Class 2 to Class 6. Class 2 felonies receive the severest penalties, depending on the specific offence. In Arizona, first-time offenders could receive the following prison sentence, although probation is available:
  • Class 6 – 4 months to 2 years (1-year presumptive term)
  • Class 5 – 6 months to 2.5 years (1.5-year presumptive term)
  • Class 4 – 1 to 3.75 years (2.5-year presumptive term)
  • Class 3 – 2 to 8.75 years (3.5-year presumptive term)
  • Class 2 – 3 to 12.5 years in prison (5-year presumptive term)
If the State of Arizona adds the allegation of a dangerous offence, the prison sentence is mandatory and the range of prison time increases substantially.  A dangerous offence involves the “discharge, use or threatening exhibition of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument or the intentional or knowing infliction of serious physical injury on another person.”

Potential Fines in Arizona

The court can also impose a fine of up to $150,000 for aggravated assault convictions in Arizona. The court will require restitution to the victim for a financial loss, including, but not limited to, medical bills and lost earnings.

What is a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument?

A baseball bat, golf clubs, a tire iron, or a vehicle can be considered dangerous or lethal weapons. An item that may not look dangerous can still be classified as such depending on the circumstances during the assault. Normally, a pen would not be considered a dangerous instrument capable of killing a person, but if the pen was used with the intent to stab somebody, then it could be argued that the pen was a dangerous instrument capable of maiming or killing a person in such a case.

Aggravated Assault Statistics

In their 2017 report, the Arizona Department of Public Safety documented 19,483 aggravated assaults for the year; 8,627 of those were cases where charged. Out of the 19,483 aggravated assaults committed:
  • 1,531 cases – knife or cutting instruments were used
  • 1,630 – involved the use of firearms
  • 2,415 – involved some other dangerous weapon
  • 3,051 – used hands, fists, feet as weapons
Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, is ready to provide you with a criminal defense. If unsure of how you stand legally when facing an Arizona criminal case, trust Robert A. Dodell to protect your rights to the very end. Give them a call now. https://www.azdps.gov/sites/default/files/media/FINAL_Crime_in_Arizona_2017.pdf

The following article What Makes an Assault Aggravated? is republished from Arizona Crim Law What Makes an Assault Aggravated? first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Domestic Violence Charges Defense in Tempe AZ

Charges of domestic violence should always be taken seriously. The State of Arizona has many laws concerning domestic violence and has been very serious about enforcing these laws to the fullest extent allowable. In some cases, the state prosecutor can pursue charges against a person accused of this crime, even if the victim changes their mind and refuses to press charges or provide testimony in the case. If you are facing charges for domestic violence or are currently under investigation, protect your rights and schedule a consultation with criminal defense attorney Robert A. Dodell. Legal representation in Tempe courts will allow you to aggressively fight these charges and get the best possible outcome for your case. Many criminal offenses, including the listing crimes below, may be enhanced by adding the allegation of domestic violence to the crime. • Assault or Aggravated Assault • Abuse of a Child or a Vulnerable Adult • Threatening or Intimidating • Criminal Trespassing • Violation of Restraining Orders • Disorderly Conduct or Harassment • Kidnapping or Unlawful Imprisonment of a Victim • Stalking • Endangerment • Sexual Assault • Manslaughter • Homicide Any additional charges that are added to the domestic violence charge can significantly increase your risks for serious punishment.

What is Domestic Violence?

According to Arizona state law ARS § 13-3601, domestic violence means any act that where there is the following relationship between the victim and the defendant: • Marriage or former marriage • Persons residing in the same household • Have a child in common or either is pregnant by the other • Related by blood or court order as a parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, brother or sister or by marriage as a parent-in-law, grandparent-in-law, stepparent, step=grandparent, step child, step-grand-child, brother-in-law or sister-in-law • Victim is a child who resides or has resided in the same household as the defendant and is related by blood to a former spouse of the defendant or to a person who resides or who has resided in the same household as the defendant. • The relationship between the victim and the defendant is currently or was previously a romantic or sexual relationship.

Penalties for Domestic Violence Convictions

A conviction for domestic violence in Arizona can result in a jail sentence. However, first-time offenders may potentially get a sentence that does not include jail time.. Sentencing for domestic violence for a first time offender can include the following: • Class 3 misdemeanor conviction - Up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine up to $500 • Class 2 misdemeanor conviction - Up to four months in jail and/or a fine up to $750 • Class 1 misdemeanor conviction - Up to six months in jail and/or a fine up to $2,500 • Class 6 felony conviction - Prison term ranging from six months to 18 months, with a presumptive term of imprisonment for one year • Class 5 felony conviction - Prison term ranging from nine months to two years, with a presumptive term of imprisonment for 1.5 years • Class 4 felony conviction - Prison term ranging from 18 months to three years, with a presumptive term of imprisonment for 2.5 years • Class 3 felony conviction - Prison term ranging from 30 months to seven years with a presumptive term of imprisonment for 3.5 years • Class 2 felony conviction - Prison term from four years to ten years, with a presumptive term of imprisonment for five years It should also be noted that anyone convicted of domestic violence will be required to take part in a court-ordered Domestic Violence Class and financial assessments. You may also be required to serve probation and community service at your own expense.

Additional Consequences

In addition to the penalties imposed by the court for being convicted of this type of crime, you may find that you may also suffer the following consequences from being convicted: • Limited visitation rights with your children • Loss of gun ownership privileges • Reporting to a professional licensing board • If convicted of a felony, may have to report the offense on any job and rental applications

Why Hire Robert A. Dodell, Attorney At Law

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, understands the seriousness of being charged with domestic violence. I also understand that there are two sides to every story. In an atmosphere where domestic violence accusations are often used to manipulate divorce and child custody proceedings or as a tool for vengeance, Attorney Robert A. Dodell is aggressive about representing clients charged with this type of crime. The outcome of your case can never be guaranteed. However, with a knowledgeable attorney representing your case, who firmly believes in protecting the rights of his clients, I will seek to secure the best possible outcome no matter the charge.  

Domestic Violence Charges Defense in Tempe AZ was first published to Robert A. Dodell Attorney LLC Domestic Violence Charges Defense in Tempe AZ first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Criminal Charges Defense in Tempe AZ

It can take less than a minute for your life to be thrown into chaos. The very second that those handcuffs are placed on your wrist, everything changes. The chaos is only intensified when you do not know what to do or where to turn for help. I understand what you are going through, The Law Offices of Robert A. Dodell has seen how facing the uncertainty of criminal charges impacts its clients, and I am here to help. My law firm is dedicated to helping those who have been charged with any type of crime in Arizona. I know criminal law, and aggressively represent my clients for the best possible outcome for their cases. I am pleased to say that my clients have been happy with my successful representation of their cases and I am happy to help them in their time of need. You don’t have to face these charges alone. If you have been accused of a crime, contact Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, for a case evaluation today.

Common Criminal Cases We Represent in Tempe

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law is qualified to represent anyone who has been charged with a crime, regardless of the charges. However, there are some criminal activities that I see more often than others. The most common cases that my firm represents include: • DUI/DWI – All types including Aggravated or Multiple Offender • Domestic Violence • Assault and Violent Crimes • Vehicular Crimes • Drug Offenses • Theft • Property Crimes • Sexual Offenses Attorney Robert A. Dodell is prepared to handle all types of misdemeanor and felony charges, even if they are not listed above. I am here to help you in your time of need.

Difference Between a Misdemeanor and Felony

Misdemeanors are generally less serious types of crime. Felonies are more serious of the two types of crimes and generally include things like murder, sexual assault, kidnapping, and similar actions. Misdemeanors include crimes like possession of an illegal substance, DUI, drunk and disorderly, and similar things. If you are unsure what category the crime you are being charged with falls under, consult with your criminal defense attorney. Your attorney can explain to you the facts of your case based on the charging information.

Penalties and Fines

Arizona has a broad range of penalties and fines that may be levied against someone who is convicted. These penalties include, but are not limited to: • Court-ordered anger management, domestic violence, and drug or alcohol therapies • Probation • Fines • Community service • Loss of driving privileges • Requirements for an ignition interlocking system • Jail time in county jails • Prison (minimum to maximum security) Arizona Law has jail sentences that are associated with each class of felony or crime. If you are convicted of a felony or crime, you may face the following jail terms:

Criminal Felony Sentencing Terms:

• Class 1 Felony – Up to life in prison or the death sentence • Class 2 Felony - Up to 12.5 years • Class 3 Felony – Up to 8.75 years • Class 4 Felony – Up to 3.75 years • Class 5 Felony – Up to 2.5 years • Class 6 Felony – Up to 2 years

Criminal Misdemeanor Sentencing Terms:

• Class 1 Misdemeanor – Up to 6 months in jail • Class 2 Misdemeanor – Up to 3 months in jail • Class 3 Misdemeanor – Up to 30 days in jail The penalties and fines are different for each type of crime and each type of circumstance relating to that crime. It is not allows common to get the exact same type of punishment to every person that is convicted of a specific crime. As your defense attorney, it is my responsibility to try to prevent you from getting convicted. However, if you are convicted of a crime you are being accused of, I will work diligently to get the least amount of penalty or fine imposed.

Juvenile Criminal Case Representation

Parents and guardians are encouraged to seek qualified legal assistance for their minor children when they have found themselves accused of a crime. It is crucial to work with an attorney that has a working knowledge of juvenile law and the resources to manage a juvenile case. Juvenile court is much different than regular court, and it should be the top priority of your attorney to do their best to keep the charges in the juvenile system. Your attorney should also have experience working with younger clients. Minors see things in a much different way than adults, and your attorney must be able to understand and work with minors to achieve the best results possible..

Why Hire Attorney Robert A. Dodell

Facing the uncertainty of criminal charges is emotionally draining and incredibly stressful. Not knowing what to do when you are facing these serious charges can make matters worse. Your best option is to seek quality legal advice and representation. Attorney Robert A. Dodell is an experienced Arizona defense attorney that has helped many people who have faced serious criminal charges. The Law Office of Robert A Dodell is ready to represent your case aggressively so that you can achieve the best possible outcome for your charges. It does not matter if you are facing a small misdemeanor charge or a serious life-changing felony. It is all serious for you. Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, has the knowledge and resources to help your case. You do not have to face this difficult time alone. Schedule a consultation with the Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, today. Your best chance for success is with quality legal representation.  

The following article Criminal Charges Defense in Tempe AZ is available on www.azcrimlaw.com – RobertDodell Criminal Charges Defense in Tempe AZ first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

DUI Charges Defense in Tempe, AZ

Being charged with DUI or DWI is very serious. Even if you are a first-time offender, you face the risk of jail time, a driver's license suspension, fines and the requirement to attend alcohol or drug-related screening and classes. In addition to the legal issues that come with being convicted of driving under the influence, you will also face many personal challenges. Your car insurance premiums may significantly increase, and you may need to purchase a special policy known as an SR-22 for extra coverage. You may also find it more difficult to obtain a job or a promotion. When you are facing a serious charge like DUI, it’s important to have a qualified attorney representing your case. Having a DUI attorney in Tempe AZ manage your case can help you get a fair trial and potentially have the charges dropped or the punishment significantly reduced.

What is the Difference Between a DUI vs. DWI?

Driving under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) are the technical terms used to describe operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. DUI and DWI are often used interchangeably by the police and the court system. Regardless, you should take the charges very seriously. Arizona has some of the strictest DUI/DWI laws in the country, and the prosecutors are very adamant about pushing the punishment to the full extent of the law.

Penalties and Punishment

There is a very broad range of penalties and punishments that are associated with a DUI conviction. Because there are so many different levels of DUI, ranging from a misdemeanor to a felony, it is hard to say exactly what the penalties will be for the charges against you. However, anyone convicted of a DUI at any level has the potential for the following punishments:
  • Jail or prison sentence
  • License suspension or revocation
  • Requirements for an ignition interlock device
  • Drug or alcohol counseling mandated by the court
  • Community service
  • Fines
It should be understood that every conviction of a DUI will include a jail sentence, even if it is for a misdemeanor. The minimum jail sentence required is ten days, with the possibility of having nine days suspended if the drug and alcohol therapy classes are attended by the person convicted.

What is the Difference Between a Misdemeanor and Felony in Tempe Courts

Generally, a first-time arrest for this offense is a misdemeanor DUI, and possibly the second arrest if the crime did not involve an accident or injuries and there were no minors under the age of 15 present in the vehicle. Misdemeanors can be categorized into three distinctions: regular DUI, which applies to anyone with a blood alcohol concentration reading of up to .15%, extreme DUI for those with blood alcohol readings greater than 0.15% but less than 0.20%, and super extreme with alcohol readings of .0.20% or greater.  Each of these categories has its own penalties and requirements. A DUI is charged as a felony if it is the third conviction for a person within a seven year period or if the person was driving on a suspended license, operating a vehicle under the influence with an ignition interlock device in their vehicle, or if a minor under the age of 15 was in the vehicle. The penalties for a felony conviction are more serious than those associated with a misdemeanor. Anyone convicted of a felony will face a prison sentence, a revocation of their license, a requirement for an ignition interlock device when their driving privileges are returned, and much higher fines. Everyone convicted of a felony will be required to attend a screening and  counseling for alcohol or drug abuse.

Why You Need The Legal Services of Attorney Robert A Dodell

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law in Tempe, has successfully represented many clients facing serious charges of DUI/DWI. I understand how much a DUI conviction could change your life. I know that I must be very aggressive in representing my clients so that they can receive a fair result and obtain the best possible outcome for their case. There are many reasons that a blood alcohol test could provide skewed results. An inexperienced officer, a testing kit that was not well maintained, improper testing of the sample, even some medical conditions can cause these devices to register a much higher number than what was actually present in the body. I look at every aspect of your case, from the arresting paperwork to the machine used for testing.  I interview the officers to determine if they did or not do their job properly and I will make sure that I build the best defense case on your behalf. Although I cannot make promises for an acquittal, I can promise that I will use all my skills and resources to get the best outcome for your case. Many people feel as if they should just appear before the judge and explain their case and hope for the best. If this was a perfect world, that may work. Sadly, the world is not perfect, and many people who self-represent in a DUI case find themselves facing the full extent of penalties and punishment. You do not have to face these serious charges on your own. Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law, has successfully represented many people who have been charged with DUI. Don't risk high fines and jail time; speak with an attorney today.  

The article DUI Charges Defense in Tempe, AZ is courtesy of azcrimlaw.com/ DUI Charges Defense in Tempe, AZ first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m

Monday, February 10, 2020

Arizona Crime Statistics 2019

In terms of crime statistics, Arizona is quite well-positioned compared to other states. Arizona violent crime is decreasing statewide, but there are “hotspots” where crime rate figures are higher compared to those from previous years.

National averages show:

  • Arizona places 22nd in safest states for property crimes (1st is the lowest number of property crimes). Property crime is at 26.83 per 1000 versus the national average of 40.43 per 1000.
  • Violent crimes in Arizona are below the national average of 3.47 per 1000. With a ratio of 0.86, Arizona’s violent crime rating is only at 2.97 per 1000.

Violent Crimes vs Property Crimes

According to the Federal Bureau of Investigation:

  • Violent crime is one of four offences: aggravated assault, robbery, rape, and non-negligent manslaughter. These are the offences that involve force or threat.
  • Non-violent crimes include offences such as arson, motor vehicle theft, larceny-theft, and burglary. The intent of theft-type offences is the taking of property of money. There is no threat or force used against victims.

Safest Cities in Arizona

The top 10 safest cities in Arizona in terms of crime rate are:

  • Florence
  • Oro Valley
  • Paradise Valley
  • Somerton
  • Sahuarita
  • Maricopa
  • Cottonwood
  • Scottsdale
  • Nogales
  • Buckeye
Paradise Valley registered only 6 incidences of violent crime in 2019, the lowest in the list, but registered 222 cases of property crime for the same year. Florence registered the lowest for property crime with only 123 cases. Scottsdale got the highest number of violent crimes in this list at 396 and also the highest for property crime at 5,470 cases.

Worst Places to Be in Arizona in Terms of Crime Rates

Here are top ten in the list of Arizona’s worst places to live (ranking takes into account property crime rates and unemployment rates):
  • South Tucson
  • Guadalupe
  • Eloy
  • Winslow
  • Snowflake
  • San Luis
  • Globe
  • Coolidge
  • Tolleson
  • Chino Valley
This listing ranks South Tucson to be the worst place to be in Arizona, with a 1 in 19.9 chance of being robbed or having something you own vandalized. Residents in Guadalupe, the city being the 4th highest in the state in terms of crime, have a 1 in 26 chance of being robbed in 2019. For every 300 persons living in Guadalupe, statistically, about 25 of them would have been victimized by a property crime offender in 2019. Eloy is the 39th worst place to live in the state of Arizona, as there is a 1 in  51.5 chance of you being victim of a property crime if you live there. Next in the list is Winslow, with 1 in 23.2 possibility of having been robbed, placing Winslow as the 13th most dangerous in the state in terms of property crimes. Completing the list are Snowflake (1 in every 30 chance of being victimized), San Luis (1 in 70), Globe (1 in 11), Coolidge (1 in 28.9), Tolleson (1 in 10.7), and Chino Valley (1 in30).

Top Ten Murder Capitals in Arizona

Arizona top ten murder list are as follows:

  • Tucson
  • Phoenix
  • Yuma
  • Tolleson
  • Globe
  • Surprise
  • Avondale
  • Glendale
  • Mesa
  • Somerton
The city with the highest murder rate is Tucson at 41 murders for every 100,000 residents, while the city with the highest number of murders in 2019 is Phoenix.

Statewide Arizona Violent Crime Rate Is Down

The number of violent crimes went down two years in a row throughout Arizona, but car thefts and rapes increased. Significant reduction was recorded for both robberies and murders. Similarly, burglaries in 2019 also decreased compared to two previous years. Rape cases, on the contrary, were recorded to have increased by about half a per cent. In Tucson, violent crimes dropped by over 7% in 2018. Homicides in the city slightly inched up with 47 murders. In 2017, the city reported 46 incidences of violent crimes. In 2016 and 2017, violent crimes increased significantly in Phoenix. However, in 2018, the city saw less violent crime, experiencing a 5% drop. The murder rate dropped by 13%. Rape, aggravated assault, and robbery also decreased. Phoenix’s most violent year in recent memory was 2016. You can find additional crime rate information and details on azdps.gov

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law

Are you involved in a criminal case? Whether you are the victim or the one trying to defend yourself in a criminal case filed against you, get the criminal legal services of Robert A. Dodell. He will see to it that your legal rights are protected.

Arizona Crime Statistics 2019 was first published to Top Rated Arizona Crime Statistics 2019 first appeared on:

Robert A. Dodell, Attorney at Law - Serving Scottsdale, Tempe & Mesa, AZ

10601 N Hayden Rd, #I-103

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

(480) 860-4321

httpss://goo.gl/maps/diwY4pu8X5m